Subscribe to our mailing list

What Topic Matters Most To You?
View Privacy Policy

Senate Judiciary Committee Votes Along Party Lines to Approve Sessions Nomination

Despite delays and much Democratic handwringing, Sessions was predictably approved in committee, and his nomination heads to the full Senate

Jeff Sessions

Voting 11-9 along party lines, the Senate Judiciary Committee voted to approve Senator Jeff Sessions’ (R-AL) nomination for Attorney General Wednesday.

Sessions’ nomination will now proceed to the Senate floor for a final confirmation vote.

Democrats in the Senate have lobbed various accusations in an attempt to derail the confirmation of their colleague, including a lengthy soliloquy by Sen. Al Franken (D-MN) just before the vote. Ultimately, none of that mattered when it came down to votes.

The following committee members voted in favor of Sessions’ nomination:

Chairman Chuck Grassley (R-IA)
Senator Orrin Hatch (R-UT)
Senator Lindsey Graham (R-SC)
Senator John Cornyn (R-TX)
Senator Mike Lee (R-UT)
Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX)
Senator Ben Sasse (R-NE)
Senator Jeff Flake (R-AZ)
Senator Mike Crapo (R-ID)
Senator Thom Tillis (R-NC)
Senator John Kennedy (R-LA)

The following committee members voted against Sessions’ nomination:

Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-CA)
Senator Patrick Leahy (D-VT)
Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL)
Senator Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI)
Senator Amy Klobuchar (D-MN)
Senator Al Franken (D-MN)
Senator Chris Coons (D-DE)
Senator Richard Blumenthal (D-CT)
Senator Mazie Hirono (D-HI)