Subscribe to our mailing list

What Topic Matters Most To You?
View Privacy Policy

Trump Signs Three Big Executive Orders

President Donald Trump signed three big executive orders Monday, reversing two of President Obama’s big policy shifts and cutting the size of the federal government.

President Donald Trump signed three big executive orders Monday to kick off the first full week of his presidency.

Executive Order #1: Pull the United States out of the TPP

The first executive order Trump signed withdrew the United States from the Trans-Pacific Partnership, a trade deal with Asian nations that President Obama pushed hard in his last years in office.

Executive Order #2: Hiring Freeze on All Federal Departments and Agencies

Trump signed an order mandating a moratorium on all federal hires. Trump discussed this move during his campaign as a way to cut the size of the federal government through attrition. The order did not include military personnel.

Executive Order #3: Reinstating the Mexico City Policy

The Mexico City Policy forbids the federal government from giving funds to groups that advocate for or perform abortions abroad and has come in and out of effect through different presidential administrations. Obama signed an executive order reversing the policy three days after he was inaugurated in 2009.